They Said I Can’t Home Educate I’m Not A Teacher!

A lot of people don’t seem to understand that parents are equipped to home educate their children even without a teaching degree. After all, who teaches them to walk, talk, use cutlery, who helps them learn their colours , numbers and shapes?  We do! I taught myself to build a basic website and cook. My husband taught himself to do plastering, plumbing, leatherwork plus loads of other things.  If we can learn to teach ourselves things like that why can’t we teach our children maths and English?

You don’t have to know the subject in depth to teach it. If you’ve got a computer I’m sure you can find the answer if you don’t know it.  Buy text books with the answers in them or sign the children up to sites that ‘mark’ the tests for them. I don’t have to know all the answers in order to be a good teacher, I just have to know how or where to find the answers. I’m also willing to learn with them, I’m not too proud to say I don’t know what the answer is to that, lets look.

There are of course things that I just can’t teach them. My youngest loves drawing but I’m no artist, but people on youtube are and there are some fantastic tutorials.  So if anyone tells you that you can’t do it as you are not a teacher, just tell them, yes I can!

One thought on “They Said I Can’t Home Educate I’m Not A Teacher!

Leave a Reply

