Ed Place Review

Ed Place is one of the programs we use as part of our home education. It has 1000s of interactive worksheets covering English, maths and science which are created by qualified teachers.  There are video’s for some topics but according to the children it can be a bit hit or miss as to whether they are useful or not. The worksheets cover from KS1 through to KS4.

Both me & the children can check their progress and see overall and individual topic scores on the dashboard. It also tells us which are their best, and worse, performing topics, very handy when choosing what to do more work on.

I have found that Abbie (12) doesn’t care about the badges she earns but it really motivates Jess (9) to do more. The normal cost is £99 for all 3 subjects for 1 year but we actually get it at a reduced cost as part of a home education group subscription (please send me a message if you would like more details). They also have a 14 day trial for £1 so you can check if the children like it or not.

I would personally give it a 4.5 out of 5 as I think it’s a brilliant program. The normal price brings the score down sightly for me.

Here is a short video of Jess doing a science worksheet:

Below are the children’s own thoughts about it.

Abbie – 12

Ed Place is a learning platform that I unwillingly use from time to time, I like the scoring system though. Me (12) and my sister (9) use it as we are home educated, and it’s admittedly one of the better learning sites.

It has Science, English and Maths and depending on what year the child is set on, there will be different topics, eg: I’m on year gsce level (year 10-11) and my maths basically all algebra…

But on quite a few topics I don’t think it explains things very well leading to low scores and frustration. Over all I’d only give it a 3/5.

Jess – 9

I think it’s fun and I like getting rewards like badges. Its good that you can check your scores and timeline, I can check what i have done on other days with this.

I would give it 4 out of 5

Our overall score for Ed Place is:

4 Stars

Leave a Reply

